Page Contents

Mentor Partnerships 2015

Please contact SOARS for questions regarding mentoring partnerships.

Updated on June 03rd, 2016
Please check back often for updates!

Protégé Research Topic Mentors

Ryan Adams

Modification of a Tropical Storm Tracking Algorithm for Extra-Tropical Cyclone Detection

Research Mentor
Richard Neale
x 1380
CGD
rneale@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Melissa Bukovsky
x 8136
CISL
bukovsky@ucar.edu

Alicia Camacho

North Atlantic Oscillation, Jet and Blocking in CESM1 Large Ensemble Simulations

Research Mentor
Young Oh Kwon
508.289.2901
WHOI
ykwon@whoi.edu
Research Mentor
Hyodae Seo
508.289.2792
WHOI
hseo@whoi.edu
Writing Mentor
Dave Ahijevych
x 8922
MMM
ahijevyc@ucar.edu

Eugene Cody

Assessing Air Quality Sensitivity to Residential Emissions Using WRF-Chem Model Simulations and Observational Data in China

Research Mentor
Christine Wiedinmyer
x 1414
ACOM
christin@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Scott Archer-Nicholls
x 1447
ACOM
nicholls@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Cindy Worster
x 8530
Information Technology
cmw@ucar.edu
Computing Mentor
Keith Maull
x 1187
ASF, RM 2159
kmaull@ucar.edu

Lauren Deanes

Small-Scale Spatial Variability of Ozone in Boulder, Colorado

Research Mentor
Mike Hannigan
303-735-5045
University of Colorado - Boulder
Michael.Hannigan@colorado.edu
Research Mentor
Katya Hafich
University of Colorado - Boulder
Katya.Hafich@colorado.edu
Research Mentor
Joanna Gordon
970.903.7639
University of Colorado - Boulder
joanna.gordon@colorado.edu
Research Mentor
Ashley Collier
University of Colorado - Boulder
ashley.collier@colorado.edu
Research Mentor
Lisa Gardiner
x 2584
SciEd
lisagard@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
McArthur Jones
University of Colorado - Boulder
mcarthur.jonesjr@colorado.edu
Coach Mentor
Steve Massie
303.735.6583
University of Colorado - LASP
steven.massie@lasp.colorado.edu

Gabriela De La Cruz Tello

Links Between Oceanic Oxygen Minimum Zones and the Hadley Circulation

Research Mentor
Caroline Ummenhofer
508.289.2507
WHOI
cummenhofer@whoi.edu
Research/Writing Mentor
Kris Karnauskas
508.289.3320
WHOI
kkarnauskas@whoi.edu
Writing Mentor
Nan Rosenbloom
x 1617
CGD
nanr@ucar.edu

Erin Dougherty

Precipitation Characteristics of Warm-Season Nocturnal Convection in the Great Plains as Determined by Ground-Based Measurements During the PECAN Field Campaign

Research Mentor
Kristen Rasmussen
x 8998
MMM
kristenr@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Carolyn Brinkworth
x 1137
NCAR Directorate
carolyn@ucar.edu

Stanley Edwin

Precise, Spatial and Temporal Determination of Alaska Funnel Cloud Sightings from Doppler Radar

Research Mentor
Sebastian Schmidt
303.492.6423
University of Colorado - Boulder
sebastian.schmidt@lasp.colorado.edu
Research Mentor
Katja Friedrich
University of Colorado - Boulder
Katja.Friedrich@colorado.edu
Research Mentor
Nicole Molders
907.474.7910
University of Alaska - Fairbanks
molders@gi.alaska.edu
Writing Mentor
Vu Nguyen
303.735.3780
University of Colorado - Boulder
vu.nguyen@colorado.edu

William Evonosky

Interactive Ion-Neutral Dynamics in the Ionosphere

Research Mentor
Art Richmond
x 1570
HAO
richmond@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Astrid Maute
x 1539
HAO
maute@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Tzu-Wei Fang
303.497.5764
NOAA & CIRES
tzu-wei.fang@noaa.gov
Writing Mentor
Gang Lu
x 1554
HAO
ganglu@ucar.edu
Computing Mentor
Bill Anderson
x 1243
CISL
andersnb@ucar.edu
Coach Mentor
John Ristvey
x 2591
SciEd
jristvey@ucar.edu

Alan Gorchov Negron

Emissions From Oil and Natural Gas Extraction Upstream of the Refinery at High Spatial and Temporal Resolution

Research Mentor
Brian McDonald
303.497.5295
NOAA
brian.mcdonald@noaa.gov
Writing Mentor
Annie Reiser
303.497.6634
NOAA
ann.m.reiser@noaa.gov
Computing Mentor
Jennifer Boehnert`
x 2858
RAL
boehnert@ucar.edu
Coach Mentor
Amy Solomon
303.497.4398
NOAA & CIRES
amy.solomon@noaa.gov

Jenine McKoy

The Air Up There: A Study on Rural Ghanian Culture, Quality of Health and Sources of Air Pollution in Navrongo, Ghana

Research Mentor
Christine Wiedinmyer
x 1414
ACD
christin@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Ricardo Piedrahita
ricpie@gmail.com
Writing Mentor
Julie Malmberg
x 2649
GLOBE
malmberg@ucar.edu
Computing Mentor
Samantha Stevenson
x 1773
CGD
samantha@ucar.edu

Meghan Mitchell

Validating the WRF Model using High Resolution Doppler Lidar Data from a Uinta Basin, UT 2012 Field Campaign for Wind Energy Applications

Research Mentor
Rob Banta
303.497. 5535
NOAA
robert.banta@noaa.gov
Research Mentor
Yelena Pichugina
303.497.6863
NOAA & CIRES
yelena.pichugina@noaa.gov
Writing Mentor
Imke Durre
828.271.4870
NOAA
imke.durre@noaa.gov

Nkosi Muse

Ingesting Geospatial Data into the National Weather Service's Hazard Services for Flood Warnings

Research Mentor
Kevin Manross
CIRA
kevin.manross@noaa.gov
Research Mentor
Tracy Hansen
303.497.6569
NOAA
tracy.l.hansen@noaa.gov
Research Mentor
Joe Wakefield
303.497.6053
NOAA
joseph.s.wakefield@noaa.gov
Writing Mentor
Lesley Smith
303.497.6172
NOAA & CIRES
lesley.l.smith@noaa.gov
Computing Mentor
Sean Arms
x 8030
UNIDATA
sarms@ucar.edu
Computing Mentor
Ryan May
x 8679
UNIDATA
rmay@ucar.edu
Coach Mentor
Jeff Weber
x 8676
UNIDATA
jweber@ucar.edu

Steven Naegele

Impacts of Graupel Parameterization on Idealized and Real Case Simulations of Squall Lines

Research Mentor
Sarah Tessendorf
x 2708
RAL
saraht@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Trude Eidhammer
x 2722
RAL
trude@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Jamie Wolff
x 2812
RAL
jwolff@ucar.edu

Zoraida Perez-Delgado

 

Research Mentor
Caroline Ummenhofer
508.289.2507
WHOI
cummenhofer@whoi.edu
Computing Mentor
Dustin Swales
303.497.7008
NOAA
dustin.swales@noaa.com

Awolou Sossa

Understanding the Rainfall Pattern Over West Africa

Research Mentor
Brant Liebmann
303.497.6190
NOAA & CIRES
brant.liebmann@noaa.gov
Writing Mentor
Tanya Peevey
303.497.5847
NOAA & CIRES
tanya.peevey@noaa.gov
Coach Mentor
Christopher Williams
x 8432
RAL
cwill@ucar.edu

Anthony Torres

Precipitation Analysis of Mesoscale Convective Systems: Comparing Measurements From Disdrometers to Radar and Satellite Observations

Research Mentor
David Bodine
x 2038
ASP EOL
dbodine@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Andrea Smith
x 8320
COMET
asmith5@ucar.edu

Rosa Vargas-Martes

Exploring the Synoptic Differences Between MJO Initiation Events Identified by Multiple Algorithms

Research Mentor
Leslie Hartten
303.497.7052
NOAA & CIRES
leslie.m.hartten@noaa.gov
Writing Mentor
Brian Bevirt
x 1249
CISL
brianb@ucar.edu
Coach Mentor
Eileen Carpenter
x 2401
SciEd
ecarpent@ucar.edu

Arianna Varuolo-Clarke

Juneau Icefield Mass Balance of Taku and Lemon Creek Glaciers

Research Mentor
Dr. Linda Hayden
252.335.3696
Elizabeth City State University
haydenl@mindspring.com
CIRA
Cooperative Institute for Research in the Atmosphere, CSU, Colorado
CIRES
Cooperative Institute for Research in Environmental Sciences, Boulder, Colorado
CSU
Colorado State University
NCAR
National Center for Atmospheric Research, Boulder, Colorado
NOAA
National Oceanic and Atmopsheric Administration
UCAR
University Corporation for Atmospheric Research, Boulder, Colorado
WHOI
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute, Woods Hole, Massachusetts
All other acronyms are UCAR groups.

Footer