Page Contents

Mentor Partnerships 2014

Please contact SOARS for questions regarding mentoring partnerships.

Updated on June 14th, 2017
Please check back often for updates!

Protégé Research Topic Mentors

Ryan Adams

x 1750

Understanding the 2013 Boulder Flood: Assessing Similar Situations and Future Climates in CESM

Research Mentor
Richard Neale
x 1380
CGD
rneale@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
B.J. Smith
x 1273
CISL
bjsmith@ucar.edu
Computing Mentor
Mary Haley
x 1254
CISL
haley@ucar.edu
Coach Mentor
Becca Hatheway
x 2597
Spark
hatheway@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
Brandt Scott
x 1869

Sarah Al-Momar

x 2854

Examining In-Cloud, Convective Turbulence in Relation to Total Lightning and the 3D Windfield of Severe Thunderstorms

Research Mentor
Wiebke Deierling
x 8760
RAL
deierlin@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Amy Stevermer
x 8307
COMET
asteverm@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
Eliza Nobles
x 8398

Meghan Applegate

Determining the Effectiveness of the WRF Model's Wind Direction Forecasts for a Central Iowa Wind Farm

Research/Writing Mentor
Gene Takle
515.294.9871
Iowa State Uniiversity
gstakle@iastate.edu
Peer Mentor
Zoraida Perez-Delgado

Alicia Camacho

303-492-7077

Identifying Long-Range Sources of Atmospheric Pollutants Utlizing an Adjoint Method

Research Mentor
Daven Henze
303.492.8716
University of Colorado - Boulder
daven.henze@colorado.edu
Writing Mentor
Vu Nguyen
Univ of Colorado / HAO
vu.a.nguyen1@gmail.com
Writing Mentor
Adrianna Hackett
University of Colorado-Boulder
alexandra.hackett@colorado.edu
Peer Mentor
Arianna Varuolo-Clarke
x 1392

Eugene Cody

x 2465

Three-Dimensional Variation of Atmospheric CO2: A Comparison of Aircraft Measurements With Inverse Model Simulations

Research Mentor
Abhishek Chatterjee
x 2895
VSP-IMAGE
abhishek@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Nan Rosenbloom
x 1617
NESL
nanr@ucar.edu
Coach Mentor
Jeff Weber
x 8676
Unidata
jweber@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
Jonathan Martinez
x 8312

Gabriela De la Cruz Tello

Links Between Changes in Atmospheric Circulation and the Extent of Oceanic Oxygen Minimum Zones

Research/Writing Mentor
Caroline Ummenhofer
508.289.2507
WHOI
cummenhofer@whoi.edu
Research/Writing Mentor
Kris Karnauskas
508.289.3320
WHOI
kkarnauskas@whoi.edu
Coach Mentor
Manny Hernandez
Texas A&M
manuel.hernandez1001
@gmail.com

Erin Dougherty

x 8935

Observations of Wind Asymmetries in Atlantic Tropical Cyclones

Research Mentor
Chris Davis
x 8990
MMM
cdavis@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Kate Young
x 8743
EOL
kbeierle@ucar.edu
Coach Mentor
Teri Eastburn
x 1152
Spark
eastburn@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
Anthony Torres
x 2710

Candace Hvizdak

x 2659

Using GLOBE Student Cloud Type and Contrail Data to Complement Satellite Observations

Research Mentor
Julie Malmberg
x 2649
GLOBE
malmberg@globe.gov
Research Mentor
Gary Randolph
x 2645
GLOBE
randolph@globe.gov
Research Mentor
Kristin Wegner
x 2630
GLOBE
kwegner@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Travis Andersen
x 2626
GLOBE
andersen@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
David Ahijevych
x 8922
MMM
ahijevyc@ucar.edu
Coach Mentor
Christopher Williams
x 8432
RAL
cwill@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
Carlos Martinez
x 1300
Peer Mentor
Steven Naegele
x 8392

MaKoQuah Jones

 

Research Mentor
Amy Myrbo
612.624.3329
University of Minnesota
amyrbo@umn.edu

Carlos Martinez

x 1300

North Atlantic Blocking and Atlantic Multidecadal Oscillation: Analysis through Climate Models, Reanalysis, and Datasets 

Research Mentor
Hydoae Seo
508.289.2792
WHOI
hseo@whoi.edu
Research Mentor
Young-Oh Kwon
WHOI
ykwon@whoi.edu
Research Mentor
Justin Small
x 1387
CGD
jsmall@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Melissa Bukovsky
x 8136
CISL
bukovsky@ucar.edu
Computing Mentor
Stuart Bishop
x 1371
ASP
sbishop@ucar.edu
Coach Mentor
Eileen Carpenter
x 2401
Spark
ecarpent@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
Candace Hvizdak
x 2659
Peer Mentor
Steven Naegele
x 8392

Jonathan Martinez

x 8312

Examining Tropical Cyclone Intensity and Structural Changes Using Aircraft Flight Level Data Between 2000-2013

Research Mentor
Jonathan Vigh
x 8205
RAL
jvigh@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Michael Bell
808.956.2878
University of Hawaii
mmbell@hawaii.edu
Writing Mentor
Joseph Wakefield
303.497.6053
NOAA/ESRL/GSD
joseph.s.wakefield@noaa.gov
Peer Mentor
Eugene Cody
x 2465

Jenine McCoy

x 1885

Innovating the Future: Engineering Sustainable Cooking Technologies in North Ghana for Improved Air Quality

Research Mentor
Christine Wiedinmyer
x 1414
ACD
christin@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Mike Hannigan
303.735.5045
University of Colorado-Boulder
michael.hannigan@colorado.edu
Writing Mentor
Anne Smith
x 1876
ACD
aksmith@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
Zoraida Perez-Delgado

Steven Naegele

x 8392

Sensitivity of a Simulated Squall Line to the Microphysical Representation of Graupel

Research Mentor
Sarah Tessendorf
x 2708
RAL
saraht@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Trude Eidhammer
x 2722
RAL
trude@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Greg Thompson
x 2805
RAL
gthompsn@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Rachel McCrary
x 2482
CISL
rmccrary@ucar.edu
Computing Mentor
Sherrie Fredrick
x 8973
ATD
sherrie@ucar.edu
Coach Mentor
Bob Wiley
x 8554
HESS
rwiley@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
Carlos Martinez
x 1300
Peer Mentor
Candace Hvizdak
x 2659

Eliza Nobles

x 8398

Developing Optimal Transport and Dispersion Climatologies for Nuclear Deposition Mapping

Research Mentor
Andrew Annunzio
x 8492
RAL
annunzio@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Paul Bieringer
x 8391
RAL
paulb@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Luna Rodriguez
x 2745
RAL
lunar@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Dan Marsh
x 1160
ACD
marsh@ucar.edu
Coach Mentor
Ian Colon Pagan
Georgia Department of Natural Resources
ian_colon@yahoo.com
Peer Mentor
Sarah Al-Momar
x 2854

Zoraida Perez-Delgado

Evolution of Phytoplankton in a Changing Climate

Research Mentor
Nicole Lovenduski
303.492.5259
University of Colorado-Boulder
nicole.lovenduski@colorado.edu
Writing Mentor
Mack Jones
University of Colorado-Boulder / HAO
mcarthurjonesjr@colorado.edu
Computing Mentor
Natalie Freeman
303.735.6676
University of Colorado-Boulder
natalie.freeman@colorado.edu
Coach Mentor
Robert Stillwell
University of Colorado-Boulder
robert.stillwell@colorado.edu
Peer Mentor
Jenine McKoy
x 1885
Peer Mentor
Meghan Applegate
Iowa State University
mja@iastate.edu

Rosimar Rios-Berrios

x 8932

 

Research Mentor
Chris Davis
x 8990
ASP
cdavis@ucar.edu

Brandt Scott

x 1869

Utilizing Portable Air Quality Monitors to Asses the Significance of Air Pollution along the Northern Front Range

Research Mentor
Julia Lee-Taylor
x 1489
ACD
julia@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
John Orlando
x 1486
ACD
orlando@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Mike Hannigan
303.735.5045
University of Colorado-Boulder
michael.hannigan@colorado.edu
Writing Mentor
Carl Drews
x 1429
ACD
drews@ucar.edu
Computing Mentor
Keith Maull
x 1187
Library
kmaull@ucar.edu
Coach Mentor
Rebecca Hornbrook
x 1493
ACD
rsh@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
Ryan Adams
x 1750

Anthony Torres

x 2710

Using the Mesoscale Model Evaluation Testbed (MMET) to Test Physics Options in the Weather Research & Forecasting (WRF) Model

Research Mentor
Jamie Wolff
x 2812
RAL
jwolff@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Michelle Harrold
x 8978
RAL
harrold@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Cody Phillips
x 2878
RAL
cody@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Wendy Abshire
x 8477
COMET
abshire@ucar.edu
Computing Mentor
Bill Anderson
x 1243
CISL
andersnb@ucar.edu
Coach Mentor
Marcus Walter
WKYC-Cleveland, OH
marcus.walter86@yahoo.com
Peer Mentor
Erin Dougherty
x 8935

Arianna Varuolo-Clarke

x 1392

Large Volcanic Eruptions Effect on Climate in the Community Earth System Model

Research Mentor
Brian Medeiros
x 1402
CGD
brianpm@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Brian Bevirt
x 1249
CISL
brianb@ucar.edu
Coach Mentor
Luna Rodriguez
x 2745
RAL
lunar@ucar.edu
Project Mentor
Alicia Camacho
303-492-7077
CIRES
Cooperative Institute for Research in Environmental Sciences, Boulder, Colorado
CSU
Colorado State University
NCAR
National Center for Atmospheric Research, Boulder, Colorado
NOAA
National Oceanic and Atmopsheric Administration
UCAR
University Corporation for Atmospheric Research, Boulder, Colorado

Footer