Page Contents

Mentor Partnerships 2013

Please contact SOARS for questions regarding mentoring partnerships.

Updated on June 14th, 2017
Please check back often for updates!

Protégé Research Topic Mentors

Stone Abdullah

Simulated Evapotranspiration in Mid-Western agricultural systems in response to elevated CO2 and O3 and Climate Change

Research Mentor
Gordon Bonan
x 1613
CGD
bonan@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Danica Lombardozzi
x 1777
CGD
danicalombardozzi@gmail.com
Research Mentor
Samuel Levis
x 1627
CGD
slevis@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Melissa Bukovsky
x 8136
IMAGE
bukovsky@ucar.edu
Coach Mentor
Jeff Weber
x 8676
UNIDATA
jweber@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
Andre Perkins
CU Eng

Sarah Al-Momar

Relating total lightning and storm microphysics to in-cloud convective turbulence

Research Mentor
Wiebke Deierling
x 8760
RAL
deierlin@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
John Williams
x 2822
RAL
jkwillia@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Marcia Politovich
x 8449
RAL
marcia@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Daniel Adriaansen
x 2853
RAL
dadriaan@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Joe Wakefield
303-497-6053
NOAA ESRL, Boulder
joseph.s.wakefield@noaa.gov

Meghan Applegate

How the chemical composition of the pre-storm and inflow regions compare to each other and to the outflow region of deep convection in the upper troposphere

Research Mentor
Mary Barth
x 8186
ACD
barthm@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Moira Kennedy
x 2578
Spark
moira@ucar.edu
Computer Mentor
Mary Haley
x 1254
CISL
haley@ucar.edu
Coach Mentor
Nancy Wade
x 8717
HR
nwade@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
Logan Dawson
x 8211

Matthew Burger

The climatology of severe thunderstorm atmospheric conditions

Research Mentor
Imke Durre
828-271-4870
NOAA - Asheville
imke.durre@noaa.gov
Research Mentor
Stan Trier
x 8912
MMM
trier@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Amy Stevermer
x 8307
COMET
asteverm@ucar.edu
Computer Mentor
David Ahijevych
x 8922
MMM
ahijevyc@ucar.edu

Dereka Carroll

Towards a better understanding of tropical cyclone flood vulnerability: Flash Floods

Research Mentor
James Done
x 8209
MMM
done@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Loretta Melhado
x 2660
Library
lmelhado@ucar.edu

Logan Dawson

Verifying WRF forecasts of updraft helicity

Research Mentor
Glen Romine
x 8997
MMM
romine@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Sarah Tessendorf
x 2708
RAL
saraht@ucar.edu

Gabriela De La Cruz Tello

Pacific Northwest ecosystem responses to atmospheric changes in the 21st century

Research Mentor
Gordon Bonan
x 1613
CGD
bonan@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Danica Lombardozzi
x 1777
CGD
danicalombardozzi@gmail.com
Research Mentor
Samuel Levis
x 1627
CGD
slevis@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Will Wieder
x 1352
ISP
wwieder@ucar.edu
Coach Mentor
Carol Park
x 8376
NCARDIR
park@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
Ana Ordonez
x 1367

Stanley Edwin

Evaluation of Windows with LabVIEW for use as a telescope pointing control system

Research Mentor
Scott Sewell
x1576
HAO
sewell@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Dan Marsh
x 1160
ACD
marsh@ucar.edu

Adrianna Hackett

Evidence for elevated stratopause events in historical meteorological data (1957 - present)

Research Mentor
Cora Randall
303-492-8208
CU LASP
Randall@lasp.colorado.edu
Research Mentor
Lynn Harvey
303-492-2920
CU LASP
lynn.harvey@lasp.colorado.edu
Writing Mentor
Leslie Hartten
x 7052
CU CIRES & NOAA ESRL Leslie.M.Hartten@noaa.gov

Manuel Hernandez

Links between regional monsoon circulation and local hydroclimate in South-Eastern Asia

Research Mentor
Caroline Ummenhofer
508-289-2507
WHOI
cummenhofer@whoi.edu
Research Mentor
Kevin Anchukaitis
WHOI
kja@whoi.edu

Hsiao-Chun Lin

2013: Evaluation of planetary boundary layer heights derived from GPS radio occultation soundings over the VOCALS-REx area

Research Mentor
Bill Kuo
x 8901
COSMIC
kuo@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Ben Ho
x 2922
COSMIC
spho@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Julie Malmberg
x 2649
GLOBE
malmberg@ucar.edu
Coach Mentor
Joanne Dunnebecke
x 8431
RAL
dunnebec@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
Diamilet Perez-Betancourt
x 8232

Sandra Maina

Vanishing Pointsin southern Terrebonne Parish: an assessment of technology's future role on climate change adaptation.

Research Mentor
Jonathan Foret
SLWDC

Jonathan Martinez

Determining the vertical distribution of volcanic plumes and SO2 column amounts from 2004–2013

Research Mentor
Steve Massie
x 1404
ACD
massie@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Anne Smith
x 1876
ACD
aksmith@ucar.edu
Coach Mentor
Christopher Williams
x 8432
JNT
cwill@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
Jake Zaragoza
x 8495

Jenine McKoy

2013: An electrified atmosphere: Parameterizing Conduction Currents from Electrified Clouds in a Global Model

Research Mentor
Andreas Baumgaertner
303-492-5896
HAO
andreasb@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Christina Kalb
x 2819
RAL
kalb@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Wiebke Deierling
x 8760
RAL
deierlin@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Gang Lu
x 1554
HAO
ganglu@ucar.eduu
Coach Mentor
McArthur Jones
717-580-9613
CU
mcarthur.jonesjr@colorado.edu
Peer Mentor
Rosimar Rios-Berrios
x 8243

Ana Ordonez

Antarctic climate change indicators

Research Mentor
Dave Schneider
x 1733
CGD
dschneider@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Nan Rosenbloom
x 1617
CGD
nanr@ucar.edu

Diamilet Perez-Betancort

Investigating the stability of a balanced shallow-water vortex

Research Mentor
Rich Rotunno
x 8904
MMM
rotunno@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Janine Aquino
x 8691
EOL
janine@ucar.edu

Andre Perkins

Methane emission resolving power of the proposed GEO-CAPE mission satellite

Research Mentor
Daven Henze
303-492-8716
CU
daven.henze@colorado.edu
Research Mentor
Nicolas Bousserez
CU
Nicolas.Bousserez@colorado.edu
Writing Mentor
Matthew Druckenmuller
303-492-3575
VSP
drucken@ucar.edu

Alejandro Prieto

Mobile oxygen vs. carbon dioxide gradient sampler: analyzer on the move

Research Mentor
Britt Stephens
x 1018
EOL/RAF
stephens@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Andrew Watt
x 1016
EOL/RAF
watt@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Brian Bevirt
x 1249
CISL
brianb@ucar.edu
Coach Mentor
Bob Wiley
x 8554
SaSS
rwiley@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
Matt Burger
x 8180

Rosimar Rios-Berrios

Assessing the impact of initial condition errors and physical parameterizations on intensity forecasts of Hurricane Katia (2011)

Research Mentor
Thomas Auligne
X 8216
MMM
auligne@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Chris Davis
x 8990
MMM
cdavis@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
BJ Smith
x 1273
CISL
bjsmith@ucar.edu

Frances Roberts-Gregory

Community Geography, Greenspaces and Access: A Case Study of Beecher Hills Lionel Hampton Nature Preserve in Atlanta, GA

Research Mentor
Timothy Hawthorne
404-413-5771
Georgia State University
thawthorne@gsu.edu

Jake Zaragoza

Automated source parameter and low level wind estimation for atmospheric transport and dispersion applications

Research Mentor
Andrew Annunzio
x 8492
RAL
annunzio@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Terri Hamner
x 8764
MMM
thamner@ucar.edu
CIRES
Cooperative Institute for Research in Environmental Sciences, Boulder, Colorado
CSU
Colorado State University
NCAR
National Center for Atmospheric Research, Boulder, Colorado
NOAA
National Oceanic and Atmopsheric Administration
UCAR
University Corporation for Atmospheric Research, Boulder, Colorado

Footer