Page Contents

Mentor Partnerships 2012

Please contact SOARS for questions regarding mentoring partnerships.

Updated on April 23rd, 2014
Please check back often for updates!

Protégé Research Topic Mentors

Vanessa Almanza

FLA-3231C, x8015
valmanza@ucar.edu

Role of latent heat and temperature flux in the genesis of Tropical Cyclone Nargis (2008)

Research Mentor
Rick Anthes
x2617
anthes@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Bill Kuo
x 8910
MMM/COSMIC, FL3-1017
kuo@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Bill Schreiner
x 2603
COSMIC, FLA-3252
schrein@ucar.edu
Computing Mentor
Doug Hunt
x 2611
COSMIC, FLA-3270
dhunt@ucar.edu
Computing Mentor
Shu-Ya Chen
x 8160
COSMIC, FL3-2070
sychen@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Loretta Melhado
x2660
NCAR Library, FLA-2228
lmelhado@ucar.edu

Sarah Al-Momar

FL2-3055, x2833
saraha@ucar.edu

Relating Electrified Cloud Properties to Wilson Currents: An Oceanic Case Study

Research Mentor
Wiebke Deierling
x8760
AAP, FL2-3094C
deierlin@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Christina Kalb
x2819
HAP, FL2-3050
kalb@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Kimberly Kosmenko
x8532
FMS, CG2-2102
kimberly@ucar.edu
Coach Mentor
Carol Park
x8376
NCARDIR, ML-402B
park@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
Logan Dawson
x8232
Fl3-2123
lcdawson@ucar.edu

Matthew Burger

CU- Duane Physics - D345, 740-466-6615
mburger@ucar.edu

An Examination of the Link Between Decadal Trends in Precipitation, Winds, and Sea Surface Heights in the Tropical Indo-Pacific During the Period 1993-2010

Research Mentor
Weiqing Han
303-735-3079
CU, Duane Physics
Weiqing.han@colorado.edu
Research Mentor
Laurie Trenary
CU, Duane Physics
laurie.trenary@colorado.edu
Writing Mentor
Lesley Smith
x2931
ACD, FL0-2522
lsmith@ucar.edu

Dereka Carroll

FL3-2123, x8233
dcarroll@ucar.edu

Mapping Social Vulnerability to Hurricanes in the Atlantic Basin

Research Mentor
James Done
x8209
MMM, FL3-3026
done@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
David Ahijevych
x8922
MMM, FL3-3020
ahijevyc@ucar.edu

Logan Dawson

FL3-2123, x8232
lcdawson@ucar.edu

Probabilistic forecasts of severe convection with a WRF-DART analysis and convection-permitting forecast system

Research Mentor
Glen Romine
x8997
MMM, FL3-2020
romine@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Sarah Tessendorf
x2708
GLOBE, FLA
saraht@ucar.edu

Jenny Eav

CU- ECME, 323-207-6896
jeav@ucar.edu

Characterization of metal and ion concentrations in PM2.5 and PM10-2.5 in rural and urban Colorado

Research Mentor
Mike Hannigan
303-735-5045
CU
michael.hannigan@colorado.edu
Research Mentor
Nick Clements
CU
nicholas.clements@colorado.edu
Research Mentor
Jana Milford
303-492-5542
ACD
milford@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Linda Carbone
Spark
lcarbone@ucar.edu

Stanley Edwin

CG1-3173, x2791
sedwin@ucar.edu

Variability of the magnetosphere-ionosphere coupling as described by the HAO high-latitude empirical model

Research Mentor
Astrid Maute
x1539
HAO, CG1-2217
maute@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Art Richmond
x 1570
HAO, CG1-2164
richmond@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Laura Allen
x 2408
Spark, CG1-2190
lallen@ucar.edu

Adrianna Hackett

CG1-3173, x2791
woolman@ucar.edu

The Response of the Ionosphere and Magnetosphere to Solar Wind Variability During 2002-2010

Research Mentor
Gang Lu
x1554
HAO, CG1-2144
ganglu@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Ingrid Cnossen
x 1505
HAO, CG1-2628
icnossen@ucar.edu

Manny Hernandez

LC12, x1300
mannyh@ucar.edu

Variability of the North American Monsoon Seasonal Precipitation in the CCSM 4 under IPCC CO2 Emission Scenarios

Research Mentor
Joe Tribbia
x1377
CGD, ML-311A
tribbia@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Julie Caron
x 1347
CGD, ML-320D
jcaron@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Will Wieder
ISP
wwieder@ucar.edu

Ma'Ko'Quah Jones

3B138 DSRC NOAA,
303-497-7950
makoquah@ucar.edu
makoquah.jones@noaa.gov

Statistical Analysis of Relations Between Monthly Teleconnection
Indices

Research Mentor
Leslie Hartten
303-497-7052
NOAA/CIRES
Leslie
.M.Hartten@noaa.gov
Research Mentor
Cecile Penland
303-497-6234
NOAA
Cecile.Penland@noaa.gov
Writing Mentor
Allen White
303-497-5155
NOAA
Allen.B.White@noaa.gov
Coach Mentor
Yvonne Mondragon
x 8601
CAAO, FLA-3125
yvonnem@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
Annareli Morales
x8935
FL3-3070
amorales@ucar.edu

Javier Lujan

FL1-2162, x8745
javier@ucar.edu

HIAPER Cloud Radar Control System Design

Research Mentor
Peisang Tsai
x 2011
RSF, FL1-2087
ptsai@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Matthew Druckenmiller
VSP
drucken@ucar.edu

Sandra Maina

Pointe Aux Chenes, LA
smaina@ucar.edu

Protecting South Terrebonne Parish, Louisiana through the development of Vanishing Points: an iPhone application motivating community and national involvement in coastal restoration efforts

Research Mentor
Shirley Laska
Research Mentor
Paty Romero-Lankao
Research Mentor
Heather Lazrus

Annareli Morales

FL3-3070, x8935
amorales@ucar.edu

Sensitivity of a Simulated Deep Convective Storm to WRF Mycrophysical Schemes and Horiozontal Resolution

Research Mentor
Cecille Villanueva
x 8982
FL3-3069
cvillanu@purdue.edu
Research Mentor
Hugh Morrison
x 8916
MMM, FL3-3038
morrison@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Melissa Bukovsky
x 8136
IMAGe, ML-390A
bukovsky@ucar.edu

Ana Ordonez

CU- Ekeley S231
aordonez@ucar.edu

Energy Extraction from Ocean Currents and Waves: Mapping the Most Promising Locations

Research Mentor
Baylor Fox-Kemper
303-492-0532
CIRES
bfk@colorado.edu
Research Mentor
Peter Hamlington
303-492-0286
CIRES
Peter.Hamlington@colorado.edu
Writing Mentor
Brian Bevirt
x 1249
CISL, ML-296
brianb@ucar.edu
Coach Mentor
Mack Jones
717-580-9613
mcarthur@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
Manny Hernandez
x1300
LC12
mannyh@ucar.edu

Ana Ortiz

FL3-3084, x8930
aortiz@ucar.edu

Effects of Tropical Deep Convection on Upper Tropospheric Ozone Concentrations

Research Mentor
Chris Davis
x 8990
ASP, ML-185
cdavis@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Dan Marsh
x 1160
ACD, FL0-1562
marsh@ucar.edu
Computing Mentor
Courtney Weeks
x 2824
RAL, FL3-1063
cweeks@ucar.edu
Coach Mentor
Christopher Williams
x 8432
JNT, FL3-1003
cwill@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
Dereka Carroll
x8233
FL3-2123
dcarroll@ucar.edu

Andre Perkins

aperkins@ucar.edu

Increasing the efficiency of GEOS-CHEM Adjoint model runs using a Python ensemble manager

Research Mentor
Daven Henze
CU
daven.henze@colorado.edu
Writing Mentor
Jana Milford
CU
jana.milford@colorado.edu

Frances Roberts-Gregory

Pointe Aux Chenes, LA
francesr@ucar.eduA

Ethnobotanical conversations in the bayou: an exercise in PAR blending TEK and traditional science in order to identify vulnerable plant species valued by southern Louisiana’s coastal Native American tribes

Research Mentor
Kristina Peterson
Research Mentor
Scott Denning
denning@atmos.colostate.edu

Curtis Walker

FL2-3056, x2870
walker@ucar.edu

The Impact of Cloud Type on Surface Radiation and Road Pavement Temperature

Research Mentor
Mike Chapman
x8395
RAL, FL2-3040
mchapman@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Jeff Custer
x8377
RAL, FL2-3068
custer@ucar.edu
Computing Mentor
Amanda Anderson
x 2746
WSAP, FL2-2019A
aander@ucar.edu

Ann Wang

FLA-3231A, x2629
chinganw@ucar.edu

The impact of GPS radio occultation on the prediction of extreme rainfall associated with Typhoon Morakot (2009): precipitation forecast verification

Research Mentor
Bill Kuo
x 8910
MMM/COSMIC, FL3-1017
kuo@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Rick Anthes
x 2617

anthes@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Barb Brown
x 8468
RAL/JNT, FL3-1011
bgb@ucar.edu
Computing Mentor
Xingqin Fang
x 8983
COSMIC, FL3-3069
fang@ucar.edu
Computing Mentor
Matthias Trattler
x 2605
COSMIC, FLA-3261
trattler@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Ernesto Munoz
x 1744
CGD, ML-408
emunoz@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
Javier Lujan
x8745
EOL, FL1-2162
javier@ucar.edu

Jake Zaragoza

FL2-2024, x8254
jakez@ucar.edu

Comparison of LIDAR Detection Statistics using SCIPUFF and WRF LES

Research Mentor
Andrew Annunzio
x 8492
NSAP, FL2-2118
annunzio@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Paul Bieringer
x 8391
NSAP, FL2-2051
paulb@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Luna Rodriguez
787-530-7162
ASP
lunar@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Anne Smith
x 1876
ACD, FL0-1550
aksmith@ucar.edu
Coach Mentor
Bob Wiley
x 8554
SaSS, CG3-2080
rwiley@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
Andre Perkins
aperkins@ucar.edu
CIRES
Cooperative Institute for Research in Environmental Sciences, Boulder, Colorado
CSU
Colorado State University
NCAR
National Center for Atmospheric Research, Boulder, Colorado
NOAA
National Oceanic and Atmopsheric Administration
UCAR
University Corporation for Atmospheric Research, Boulder, Colorado

Footer