Page Contents

Mentor Partnerships 2011

Please contact SOARS for questions regarding mentoring partnerships.

Updated on June 14th, 2017
Please check back often for updates!

Protégé Research Topic Mentors

Theresa Aguilar

FL1-2028, x2028
taguilar@ucar.edu

Gust front vs. non-gust front thunderstorms: An investigation into storm characteristics and environmental conditions

Research Mentor
Rita Roberts
x8480
RAL, FL2-3035
rroberts@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Tammy Weckwerth
x8790
EOL, FL2
tammy@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Amy Stevermer
x8307
COMET, CG-3204
asteverm@ucar.edu

Vanessa Almanza

FL4-3310, x2663
valmanza@ucar.edu

Precipitable water vapor in and around tropical cyclones in the Caribbean: 2007-2010

Research Mentor
John Braun
x8018
COSMIC, FL4-3404
braunj@ucar.edu
Computing Mentor
Doug Hunt
x 2611
COSMIC, FL4-3414
dhunt@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Ernesto Munoz
emunoz.net@gmail.com

Graylen Boone

MLLC-14, x1750
gboone@ucar.edu

Evaluation of the new crop option in the CAM4/CLM4CN using Midwestern Unitd States site observations

Research Mentor
Sam Levis
x1627
CGD, ML-202D
slevis@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Laura Allen
x2408
EO, ML
lallen@ucar.edu

Matthew Burger

NOAA, Asheville, NC
828-257-3152
mburger@ucar.edu

Climatology of stability indexes for Cincinnati, Ohio

Research Mentor
Imke Durre
(828) 271-4870
NOAA, Ashevillie, NC
imke.durre@noaa.gov
Writing Mentor
Lesley Smith
x2931
ACD, FL0-2522
lsmith@ucar.edu

Karl Clarke

FL4-2216, x2947
kclarke@ucar.edu

Program coordinators' perceptions of effective national citizen science programs and their impacts: an exploratory study

Research Mentor
Donna Charlevoix
x2647
GLOBE, FL4-2138
charlevo@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Teri Eastburn
x1152
EO, ML
eastburn@ucar.edu

Raymond Detweiler

FL0-2178, x1410
detweil@ucar.edu

Satellite observations of NO2 and CO

Research Mentor
Steve Massie
x1404
ACD, FL0
massie@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Helen Worden
x2912
ACD, FL0
hmw@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Jo Hansen
x8963
MMM, FL3-2008
jhansen@ucar.edu

Jenny Eav

FL0-2182, x1424
jeav@ucar.edu

Comparison of monoterpene oil composition and volatile emissions from Ponderosa and Austrian pine

Research Mentor
Jim Greenberg
x1454
ACD, FL0-3126
greenber@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Anne Smith
x 1876
ACD, FL0-1550
aksmith@ucar.edu
Coach Mentor
Wendy Abshire
x8477
COMET, CG2-3126
abshire@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
Raymond Detweiler

Stanley Edwin

CG1-3664, x1511
sedwin@ucar.edu

Simulating magnetosphere-ionosphere coupling in TIEGCM

Research Mentor
Astrid Maute
x1539
HAO, CG1-2217
maute@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Art Richmond
x 1570
HAO, CG1-2164
richmond@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Aimé Fournier
x1614
MMM, FL3
fournier@ucar.edu
Coach Mentor
Barb Petruzzi
x1602
ACD, FL0-2128
petruzzi@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
Matthew Paulus

Sharome Goode

University of Colorado
sharome@ucar.edu

Vertical distribution of coarse particulate matter

Research Mentor
Mike Hannigan
(303) 735-5045
University of Colorado
hannigan@colorado.edu
Research Mentor
Christine Wiedinmyer
x 1414
ACD, FL0-3154
christin@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Sarah Tessendorf
x2708
RAL/GLOBE, FL2-2067
saraht@ucar.edu

Manny Hernandez

MLLC-13, x1392
mannyh@ucar.edu

Analysis of present-day and future precipitation in the Southwestern United States

Research Mentor
Joe Tribbia
x1377
CGD, ML-311A
tribbia@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Julie Caron
x1347
CGD, ML-320D
jcaron@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Cindy Worster
x1101
NCAR Directorate, ML-402A
cmw@ucar.edu
Coach Mentor
Carol Park
x8376
External Relations, ML-402B
park@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
Aaron Piña

Javier Lujan

NOAA/ESRL/Physical Sciences Division
Javier.Lujan@noaa.gov

Understanding profiler observations of the stratocumulus-topped marine boundary layer

Research Mentor
Leslie M. Hartten
303-497-7052
CIRES/University of Colorado
leslie.m.hartten@noaa.gov
Research Mentor
Paul E. Johnston
303-497-3176
CIRES/University of Colorado
paul.e.johnston@noaa.gov
Writing Mentor
Brian Bevirt
x1249
CISL, ML-296
brianb@ucar.edu
Coach Mentor
Lynne Davis
x8313
IIS/DLS, FL4-3110
lynne@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
Curtis Walker

Sandra Maina

FL3-3069, x8180
smaina@ucar.edu

Improvement of hurricane risk perception: Re-analysis of a hurricane damage index and development of spatial damage assessments

Research Mentor
James Done
x8209
MMM, FL3
done@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Cody Phillips
x2878
RAL, FL2-2072
cody@ucar.edu

Annareli Morales

FL0-2572, x1419
amorales@ucar.edu

Semi-empirical functions describing the response of short-lived radicals to their driving forces in the WRF/chem model

Research Mentor
Sasha Madronich
x1430
ACD, FL0
sasha@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Alma Hodzic
x 1463
ACD, FL0-1566
alma@ucar.edu
Computing Mentor
Steve Beaty
303-497-1263
SCD, ML-17G
beaty@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Luna Rodriguez
x2745
RAL, FL2-2085
lunar@ucar.edu
Coach Mentor
Annette Lampert
x2592
EO, CG1
annette@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
Curtis Walker

Matthew Paulus

FL3-3069, x8982
paulus@ucar.edu

Detection of mesoscale vortices and their role in subsequent convection

Research Mentor
Stan Trier
x8912
MMM, FL3-3022
trier@ucar.edu
Computing Mentor
David Ahijevych
x8922
MMM, FL3-3020
ahijevyc@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Peter Lauritzen
x1316
CGD, ML-300C
pel@ucar.edu

Diamilet Perez-Betancourt

FL3-3070, x8148
dperez@ucar.edu

Rapid intensification of hurricane Earl in Advanced Hurricane WRF model simulations

Research Mentor
Chris Davis
x8990
MMM, FL3
cdavis@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Kimberly Kosmenko
x8532
F&A, CG2-2102
kimberly@ucar.edu

Andre Perkins

MLLC-12, x1300
aperkins@ucar.edu

Deciduous-broadleaf forest simulation accuracy in the Community Land Model v4.0

Research Mentor
Gordon Bonan
x1613
CGD, ML-203
bonan@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Alex Gonzalez
Colorado State University
gonzalez@atmos.colostate.edu
Coach Mentor
Mack Jones
University of Colorado
mcarthur.jonesjr@colorado.edu
Peer Mentor
Matthew Paulus

Aaron Piña

FL1-2121, x2015
apina@ucar.edu

Comparison of microphysical cloud properties from the FSSP and the CDP during CAMPS field campaign

Research Mentor
Vidal Salazar
x8380
EOL, FL1-2070
vidal@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Gannet Hallar
gannet.hallar@dri.edu
Research Mentor
Galina Chirokova
galina.chirokova@dri.edu
Writing Mentor
John Williams
x2822
RAL, FL2-3091
jkwillia@ucar.edu

Daniel Pollak

University of Colorado, D345, Duane Building
311 UCB
215-630-9439
danielp@ucar.edu

Characterizing wind turbine inflow and wakes through comparison of SODAR and meteorological tower observation- A part of TWICS: The Turbine Wake Inflow Characterization Study

Research Mentor
Julie Lundquist
University of Colorado
julie.lundquist@colorado.edu
Research Mentor
Andy Clifton
303-384-7141
University of Colorado
andrew.clifton@nrel.gov
Writing Mentor
David Hart
x1234
CISL, ML55
dhart@ucar.edu

Rosimar Rios-Berrios

FL3-3070, x8935
rberrios@ucar.edu

Quantifying the role of tropospheric relative humidity on the development of tropical cyclones

Research Mentor
Brian Tang
x8140
MMM, FL3-3075
btang@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Shuyi Chen
305-421-4048
University of Miami/MMM
schen@rsmas.miami.edu
Writing Mentor
Vicki Holzhauer
x2593
EO, CG1-2190
vicki@ucar.edu
Coach Mentor
Amy Smith
x8872
SA, CG4-2340
asmith@ucar.edu

Vanessa Vincente

FL4-1320, x8644
vincente@ucar.edu

Analysis of moisture transport and its impact on mid-latitude precipitation by tropical storm Hermine (2010) using WRF simulations

Research Mentor
Jeff Weber
x8676
Unidata, FL4-1322
jweber@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Russ Schumacher
979-845-3305
Texas A&M
russ.schumacher@tamu.edu
Writing Mentor
Loretta Melhado
x2660
DLS, FL4
lmelhado@ucar.edu

Curtis Walker

FL2-3094H, x2872
walker@ucar.edu

An analysis of the sensitivity of pavement temperature to the makeup of the road surface

Research Mentor
Mike Chapman
x8395
RAL, FL2-3040
mchapman@ucar.edu
Computing Mentor
Amanda Anderson
x 2746
RAL, FL2-2019A
aander@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Jeff Custer
x8377
RAL, FL2-3068
custer@ucar.edu

Adrianna Woolman

CG1-3664, x1511
woolman@ucar.edu

Examining ionization parameterizations for energetic electrons in the ionosphere using TIME-GCM simulations

Research Mentor
Gang Lu
x1554
HAO, CG1-2144
ganglu@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Bob Henson
x8605
Communications, FL4-1218
bhenson@ucar.edu
Coach Mentor
Megan Delaney
x8530
Contracts, CG4-2430
mdelaney@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
Vanessa Vincente
CIRES
Cooperative Institute for Research in Environmental Sciences, Boulder, Colorado
CSU
Colorado State University
NCAR
National Center for Atmospheric Research, Boulder, Colorado
NOAA
National Oceanic and Atmopsheric Administration
UCAR
University Corporation for Atmospheric Research, Boulder, Colorado

Footer