Page Contents

Mentor Partnerships, Research Topics and Work locations 2009

Please contact SOARS for questions regarding mentoring partnerships.

Updated on June 14th, 2017
Please check back often for updates!

Protégé Research Topic Mentors

Graylen Boone

gboone@ucar.edu
x 8948
FL3-3062C

Poleward moisture transport by recurving tropical cyclones and its effect on mid-latitude precipitation

Research Mentor
Russ Schumacher
x 2846
FL2-3055
rschumac@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Chris Davis
x 8990
FL3-2021
cdavis@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Nicole Gordon
x 8616
ngordon@ucar.edu
Community Mentor
Marina LaGrave
x 2588
mlagrave@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
McArthur Jones, Jr.

Marques Cameron

mcameron@ucar.edu
x 8174
FL3-3062F

Modeling wildfire behavior and analyzing emissions

Research Mentor
Janice Coen
x 8986
FL3-2015
janicec@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Lesley Smith
x 2931
lsmith@ucar.edu

Roque Céspedes

cespedes@ucar.edu
x 8931
FL3-2054

Decrease in the summer rainfall of the southern United States coast and the Caribbean due to climate change

Research Mentor
Greg Holland
x 8949
FL3-2012
gholland@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Linda Mearns
x 8124
ML-382
lindam@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Rich Loft
x 1262
loft@ucar.edu

Karl Clarke

kclarke@ucar.edu
x 2584
CG2-3035

A citizen science campaign encouraging urban forest professionals to engage the public in the collection of tree phenological data

Research Mentor
Sandra Henderson
x 8101
CG2-3104
sandrah@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Kirsten Meymaris
x 2583
CG2-3031
kirstenm@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Dudley R. Hartel
x 706.559.4236
USDA Forest Service
dhartel@fs.fed.us
Writing Mentor
Susan Foster
x 2595
susanf@ucar.edu
Computing Mentor
Dennis Ward
x 2599
dward@ucar.edu

Ian Colón-Pagán

iancolon@ucar.edu
x 2605
FL4-3344

Orographic effects on rainfall induced by the passage of tropical cyclones over mountainous islands. Part 1: The effect of cloud microphysics.

Research Mentor
Bill Kuo
x 8910
FL3-3009
kuo@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Bill Schreiner
x 2603
FL4-3410
schrein@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Sara Frank Bristow
x 2606
sbristow@ucar.edu
Computing Mentor
Wei Wang
x 8919
weiwang@ucar.edu

Raymond Detweiler

detweil@ucar.edu
x 8751
FL1-2162

The effects of cloud cover on photosynthesis in a sub-alpine forest ecosystem focusing on Niwot Ridge, Colorado

Research Mentor
Lynette Laffea
x 2017
FL1-2175B
laffeal@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Bob Henson
x 8605
bhenson@ucar.edu
Computing Mentor
Joe VanAndel
x 2071
vanandel@ucar.edu
Community Mentor
Bob Roesch
x 8704
broesch@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
Ian Colon-Pagan

Alex Gonzalez

gonzalez@ucar.edu
x 1907
ML-186

Reconsidering the role of Rossby waves in the Madden-Julian Oscillation (MJO)

Research Mentor
Wayne Schubert
CSU
Research Mentor
Brian Mapes
ML-186
bmapes@rsmas.miami.edu
Writing Mentor
Cindy Worster
x 1101
cmw@ucar.edu

Sharome Goode

sharome@ucar.edu
x 2617
FL4-3402

Comparison of ABL heights derived from COSMIC RO and the RUC Model

Research Mentor
Lidia Cucurull
301.763.8000 x 7744
Lidia.Cucurull@noaa.gov
Research Mentor
Sergey Sokolovskiy
x 2607
FL4-3440
sergey@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Brian Bevirt
x 1249
brianb@ucar.edu
Computing Mentor
Doug Hunt
x 2611
dhunt@ucar.edu
Community Mentor
Jeff Weber
x 8676
jweber@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
Dana Pauzauskie

Michael Kevin Hernandez

mhernan@ucar.edu
x 8165
FL3-3062B

Evaluating the effects of latent heating in tropical cyclone Sinlaku's extratropical transition using ARW and energetics analysis

Research Mentor
Bill Kuo
x 2603
FL3-3009
kuo@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Emily Laidlaw
x 2892
laidlaw@ucar.edu

McArthur Jones

mcjones@ucar.edu
x 1524
CG1-2148

Eliassen-Palm fluxes of the diurnal tides from Whole Atmosphere Community Climate Model-Extended (WACCM-X)

Research Mentor
Arthur Richmond
x 1570
CG1-2164
richmond@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Hanli Liu
x 1564
CG1-2160
liuh@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Jamaica Jones
x 2674
jamaica@ucar.edu
Computing Mentor
Joe McInerney
x 8073
joemci@ucar.edu

Maximo Menchaca

menchaca@ucar.edu
x 8204
fl3-3062E

A higher order tracer transport scheme for icosahedral hexagonal grid

Research Mentor
William Skamarock
x 8161
FL3-3060
skamaroc@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Arlene Laing
x 8147
laing@ucar.edu
Community Mentor
Katie Pohl
x 8715
kpohl@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
Alex Gonzalez

Imani Morris

imani@ucar.edu
x 2715
FL2-2110

Climatology of precipitation in West Africa through observational studies

Research Mentor
Paul Kucera
x 2807
FL2-2068
pkucera@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Barbara Brown
x 8468
FL2-2066
bgb@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Mike Chapman
x 8395
FL2-3063
mchapman@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Steven Massie
x 1404
massie@ucar.edu

Nicole Ngo

ngo@ucar.edu
x 8208
FL3-3062A

The effects of convective clouds on vertical scalar transport using a numerically simulated flow field

Research Mentor
Chin-Hoh Moeng
x 8911
FL3-3044
moeng@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Jeff Weil
x 8907
FL3-3043
weil@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Reta Lorenz
x 1441
reta@ucar.edu
Computing Mentor
Ned Patton
x 8598
patton@ucar.edu

Lumari Pardo-Rodriguez

lpardo@ucar.edu
x 1424
FL0-2182

Lightning activity in Atlantic tropical cyclones: Using the Long-range Lightning Detection Network (LLDN)

Research Mentor
Joseph Golden
303.530.3379
joegolden@q.com
Research Mentor
Bill Woodley
303.979.3379
williamlwoodley@cs.com
Writing Mentor
Amy Stevermer
x 8307
amy@ucar.edu
Computing Mentor
Mike Page
x 2464
mpage@ucar.edu

Matthew Paulus

paulus@ucar.edu
x 8745
FL1-2162

Comparison of the VORTRAC retrieved structure of Hurricane Danny (1997) to prior analyses

Research Mentor
Wen-Chau Lee
x 8814
FL1-2081
wenchau@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Michael Bell
Writing Mentor
David Ahijevych
x 8922
ahijevyc@ucar.edu
Community Mentor
Tim Barnes
x 1169
tbarnes@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
Roque Cespedes

Dana Pauzauskie

Different ways of knowing: Exploring traditional ecological knowledge and climate modeling for the Turtle Mountains, North Dakota

Research Mentor
Mary Hayden
x 8116
ML-580
mhayden@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Julia Lee-Taylor
x 1489
julial@ucar.edu

Daniel Pollak

danielp@ucar.edu
x 1606
ML-563

Flash floods: a spatial and temporal analysis. A case study of the March 2008 flash floods in southwestern Missouri.

Research Mentor
Isabelle Ruin
x 8130
ML-567
isar@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Olga Wilhelmi
x 8126
ML-584
olgaw@ucar.edu
Project Mentor
Jennifer Boehnert
x 2858
FL2
boehnert@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Vickie Johnson
x 8361
vjohnson@ucar.edu
Community Mentor
Zhenya Gallon
x 8607
zhenya@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
Marques Cameron

Vanessa Vincente

vanessa.vincente @noaa.gov
3B138 (DSRC)

The relationship between sea breezes and rainfall along western Mexico during the North American Monsoon

Research Mentor
Leslie M. Hartten
x 7052
DSRC
leslie.m.harrren@noaa.gov
Research Mentor
Paul Johnston
x 3176
DSRC
paul.e.johnston@noaa.gov
Writing Mentor
Joseph Wakefield
x 6053
DSRC
joseph.s.wakefield@noaa.gov
Community Mentor
Luanna Allapowa
x 8718
luanna@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
Nicole Ngo

Marcus Walter

walterm@ucar.edu
x 2734
FL2-2109

Re-examination of Northeast United States drought trends and characteristics

Research Mentor
Eric Gilleland
x 2849
FL2-2060
ericg@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Balaji Rajagopalan
303.492.5968
FL1-567
rajagopalan.balaji@colorado.edu
Writing Mentor
Susie Siders
x 1650
siders@ucar.edu
Computing Mentor
John Halley Gotway
x 2861
johnhg@ucar.edu

Anastasia Yanchilina

nyanchil@ucar.edu
x 1488
FL0-1564

Model analysis of 27-day solar induced variability of chemical dynamics in the equatorial upper and middle atmophere.

Research Mentor
Dan Marsh
x 1160
FL0-1562
marsh@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Natalia Calvo
FL0-1538
Writing Mentor
Kelley Barsanti
x 1403
barsanti@ucar.edu
Computing Mentor
Julia Lee-Taylor
x 1489
julial@ucar.edu
CIRES
Cooperative Institute for Research in Environmental Sciences, Boulder, Colorado
CSU
Colorado State University
NCAR
National Center for Atmospheric Research, Boulder, Colorado
NOAA
National Oceanic and Atmopsheric Administration
UCAR
University Corporation for Atmospheric Research, Boulder, Colorado

Footer