Page Contents

Mentor Partnerships 2016

Please contact SOARS for questions regarding mentoring partnerships.

Updated on December 05th, 2016
Please check back often for updates!

Protégé Research Topic Mentors

Ryan Adams

Western North Atlantic Explosive Cyclones in relation to Arctic Ice and Atmospheric Blocking

Research Mentor
Scott Sheridan
330.672.3224
Kent State University ssherid1@kent.edu

Shao Wen (Amy) Chen

Sensitivity of Model Verification Results to Object Identification Parameters Using Method for Object-Based Diagnostic Evaluation – Time Domain

Research Mentor
Amanda Anderson
x 2746
RAL
aander@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Jamie Wolff
x 2812
RAL
jwolff@ucar.edu
Computing Mentor
Mary Haley
x 1254
CISL
haley@ucar.edu
Coach Mentor
Cindy Worster
x 8530
IT
cmw@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
William Evonosky
Peer Mentor
Steven Naegele
x 2742

Briah' Davis

From DOS to LabVIEW Real-Time: Modernizing a Carbon Monoxide Instrument for User-Friendly Data Acquisition

Research Mentor
Teresa Campos
x 1048
ACOM
campos@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Rebecca Buchholz
x 1492
ACOM
buchholz@ucar.edu
Computing Mentor
Bryan Guarente
x 8368
COMET
guarente@ucar.edu
Coach Mentor
Matt Paulus
x 2025
EOL
paulus@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
Rosa Vargas-Martes

Lauren Deanes

Evaluation of High Resolution Rapid Refresh-Smoke (HRRR-Smoke) Model Products Using PM2.5 Observations

Research Mentor
Ravan Ahmadov
303.497.4314
NOAA & CIRES
Ravan.Ahmadov@noaa.gov
Writing Mentor
Annie Reiser
303.497.6634
NOAA
Ann.M.Reiser@noaa.gov
Computing Mentor
Kevin Manross
303.497.6063
NOAA & CIRA
Kevin.Manross@noaa.gov
Peer Mentor
Amber Liggett

William Evonosky

Modeling Molecular Hydrogen Emission in M-Dwarf Exoplanetary Systems

Research Mentor
Kevin France
303.492.1429
University of Colorado - LASP
Kevin.France@lasp.colorado.edu
Research Mentor
Nick Kruczek
University of Colorado - LASP
nikr1336@colorado.edu
Writing Mentor
Scott Archer-Nicholls
x 1447
ACOM
nicholls@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
Shao Wen (Amy) Chen
x 2774

Ryder Fox

Behind the Rapid Intensification of Hurricane Patricia, the Strongest Recorded Hurricane in History

Research Mentor
Falko Judt
x 8246
MMM
fjudt@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
David Ahijevych
x 8922
MMM
ahijevych@ucar.edu
Computing Mentor
Yangyang Xu
x 1743
CGD
yangyang@ucar.edu
Coach Mentor
Tim Barnes
x 1169
SciEd
tbarnes@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
Meghan Mitchell
x 8495

Keon Gibson

Investigating the Sources of Inaccuracy in a Geonor Precipitation Gauge

Research Mentor
Scott Landolt
x 2804
RAL
landolt@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Brian Bevirt
x 1249
CISL
brianb@ucar.edu
Computing Mentor
Justin Lentz
RAL
lentz@ucar.edu
Coach Mentor
Eileen Carpenter
x 2401
SciEd
ecarpent@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
Nkosi Muse
x 8148

Shay Gilpin

Weather Balloons to Satellites: A Mathematical Comparison of Radio Occultation and Radiosonde Refractivities Over Guam

Research Mentor
Rick Anthes
x 2617
COSMIC
anthes@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Therese Rieckh
COSMIC
therese.rieckh@edu.uni-graz.at
Research Mentor
Bill Randel
x 1439
ACOM
randel@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Gang Lu
x 1554
HAO
ganglu@ucar.edu
Coach Mentor
Julie Malmberg
x 2649
GLOBE
malmberg@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
Arianna Varuolo-Clarke
x 1353

Tony Hurt

Examining the Variability of the Diurnal Cycle of Rainfall over the Pacific Basin associated with El Niño

Research Mentor
Naoko Sakaeda
303.497.7013
NOAA
Naoko.Sakaeda@noaa.gov
Writing Mentor
George Kiladis
303.497.3892
NOAA
George.Kiladis@noaa.gov
Computing Mentor
Juliana Dias
303.497.7235
NOAA & CIRES
Juliana.Dias@noaa.gov
Coach Mentor
Jeff Weber
x 8676
UNIDATA
jweber@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
Rosa Vargas-Martes

Amber Liggett

Developing a Quantitative Measure of Convective Forcing to Evaluate High Resolution Rapid Refresh Ensemble (HRRRE) Variance

Research Mentor
Terra Ladwig
303.497.6725
NOAA & CIRES
Terra.Ladwig@noaa.gov
Research Mentor
Curtis Alexander
303.497.4725
NOAA & CIRES
Curtis.Alexander@noaa.gov
Research Mentor
David Dowell
303.497.6872
NOAA
David.Dowell@noaa.gov
Writing Mentor
Elizabeth Burakowski
x 1771
CGD
Elizabeth.Burakowski@gmail.com
Computing Mentor
Erik Larson
303.497.4746
NOAA & CIRES
Erik.Larson@noaa.gov
Coach Mentor
Steve Massie
303.735.6583
University of Colorado - LASP
Steven.Massie@lasp.colorado.edu
Peer Mentor
Lauren Deanes

Jenine McKoy

Sustainable Waterways: Modeling the Impact of Interdependent Relationships within the Water-Energy Nexus

Research Mentor
Hiba Baroud
615-322-0471
Vanderbilt University hiba.baroud@vanderbilt.edu
Writing Mentor
Carolyn Brinkworth
x 1137
NCAR Directorate
carolyn@ucar.edu
Computing Mentor
Keith Maull
x 1187
NCAR Directorate
kmaull@ucar.edu

Meghan Mitchell

Development of Statistical Post-Processing Techniques for Improved Low-level Wind Speed Forecasts in West Texas

Research Mentor
Sue Haupt
x 2763
RAL
haupt@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Jared Lee
x 8485
RAL
jaredlee@ucar.edu
Research Mentor
Luca Delle Monache
x 2736
RAL
lucadm@ucar.ed
Research Mentor
Gerry Weiner
x 8417
RAL
gerry@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Michael Lawler
x 8156
ACOM
mlawler@ucar.edu
Computing Mentor
Ryan Sobash
x 8168
MMM
sobash@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
Ryder Fox
x 8229

Nkosi Muse

Understanding and Communicating Future Flood Losses Using Weather Typing

Research Mentor
James Done
x 8209
MMM
done@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Lesley Smith
303.497.6172
NOAA & CIRES Lesley.L.Smith@noaa.gov
Peer Mentor
Keon Gibson
x 8253

Steven Naegele

Riming Parameterization Impacts on the Microphysical Evolution of a Northeast Winter Cyclone and the Associated Snowbands

Research Mentor
Trude Eidhammer
x 2722
RAL
trude@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Benjamin Gaubert
x 1488
ACOM
gaubert@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
Shao Wen (Amy) Chen
x 2774
Peer Mentor
Jesse Villalobos

Rosa Vargas-Martes

Further Exploration of MJO Initiation Events and Precursors as Revealed by an MJO-like Dynamical Mode

Research Mentor
Leslie Hartten
303.497.7052
NOAA & CIRES
Lesley.M.Hartten@noaa.gov
Writing Mentor
Katherine McCaffrey
303.497.5096
NOAA
Katherine.Mccaffrey@noaa.gov
Peer Mentor
Briah' Davis
Peer Mentor
Tony Hurt

Arianna Varuolo-Clarke

Northeast Pacific Stratocumulus to Cumulus Transition in the Community Earth System Model

Research Mentor
Brian Medeiros
x 1402
CGD
brianpm@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Karen McKinnon
x 1709
ASP/CGD
mckinnon@ucar.edu
Computing Mentor
Gary Strand
x 1336
CGD
strandwg@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
Shay Gilpin

Jesse Villalobos

Confirming the Improved Precision and Accuracy of a Modified Airborne Carbon Monoxide (CO) Analyzer for Measurement in the Upper Troposphere

Research Mentor
Teresa Campos
x 1048
ACOM
campos@ucar.edu
Writing Mentor
Andrea Smith
x 8320
COMET
asmith5@ucar.edu
Coach Mentor
Vanessa Vincente
x 8475
COMET
vincente@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor
Steven Naegele
x 2742

 

CIRA
Cooperative Institute for Research in the Atmosphere, CSU, Colorado
CIRES
Cooperative Institute for Research in Environmental Sciences, Boulder, Colorado
CSU
Colorado State University
NCAR
National Center for Atmospheric Research, Boulder, Colorado
NOAA
National Oceanic and Atmopsheric Administration
UCAR
University Corporation for Atmospheric Research, Boulder, Colorado
WHOI
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute, Woods Hole, Massachusetts
All other acronyms are UCAR groups.

Footer